Snow Hill Police Station, a 24 hour operational station of the City of London Police. The police station was built on the site of the former Saracen’s Head Inn that was demolished in 1868, and a plaque on the wall outside records that fact.
The building merits Grade II Listed Building status, and the English Heritage website page describes it thus:
Police Station. 1926 by Sydney Perks. Stone with lead to bay; roof of slate. Five storeys over basement. Three-window range. All opening flat arched. Noteworthy and unusual blend of Modern and Arts and Crafts style. Banded rustication to ground floor with three doors, those to sides with one sidelight each, that to centre at rear of rectangular recess set under a full-height polygonal bay of five windows with Tuscan pilaster responds and a cornice at the top cut in a Meander pattern and having long acanthus brackets. Running guilloche to ground floor. Plain parapet with coping. Ornaments are judiciously placed to emphasise the simple expanse of masonry and the elegant metal-faced bay. Police lanterns in parapets over side elevations. City of London plaque to the Saracen’s Head, demolished in 1868.
These photographs were commissioned by Thames & Hudson / View Pictures for a book on the architecture of the City of London
Photography © Quintin Lake, 2010